Moving Beyond Perfection

Never Ignore Your Gut

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on August 18, 2009

DSC01393 

Last night I was reading this month’s issue of Cosmopolitan (yes, totally vegging out here, haha!), and I came across this article titled, “Gut Feelings You Should Never Ignore”.

“….For example, when you walk into a job interview, your gut might tell you that the company just isn’t a good fit. The trouble is, reasoning often overrides this feeling. You tend to ignore your big-picture initial reaction (that the job isn’t right for you) and instead focus on the nitty-girtty details, like that the position offers a pay raise and a more flexible schedule. ‘Logic is like an overworked muscle,’ Dr. Orloff explains. ‘Because people rely on it more often than intuition, it becomes their default setting.’…..”

Do you guys tend to follow your gut or more rational thinking? I must admit that I am one of those people who tend to rely on reasoning much more than my intuition. I tend to draw up pro/con lists in my head and am also extremely risk-averse, so I always try to choose the more “rational” route. However, I have also learned over the years that my gut reaction is often right. I didn’t mean to approach my last interview of my summer internship the way I did, but my responses were a reflection of my inner instincts. I am glad I finally followed my gut. It is also perfect timing that I came across this article when I did :)

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Learning To Relove said, on August 19, 2009 at 2:40 am

    i feel like I follow a bit of both. I definitely rely on my reasoning a lot but at the same time, I feel that I know when to bring in the gut reactions instead.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

