Moving Beyond Perfection

Painful teeth and Hunger Cues

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on August 18, 2009

5:40 AM in Hong Kong (yes, I am jetlagged!):

DSC01402

5:50 AM: (a lot changes in 10 minutes!)

DSC01406

7:50 AM – finally nice and bright!

DSC01412

Good morning everyone! Let me start off by saying that getting wisdom teeth out is not fun :( I know, I know, who in their right mind would enjoy getting their wisdom teeth taken out? However, I honestly didn’t think it would hurt as much as it did. I don’t think they give you as much painkiller in Asia because I’ve heard so many of my friends say that they were so drugged up after getting their wisdom teeth taken out that they were happy. I’m glad they didn’t give me too many drugs because I’m one of those people who hate taking medicine unless it’s I absolutely need it, but let me tell you, after that Novocain wore off, I was one unhappy camper :( The painkillers they prescribed me barely did anything to alleviate my pain, but on the bright side, I think I’m a fast healer because I stopped looking like a chipmunk about 3 hours later, and I’m already started to do some chewing again this morning. Nevertheless, I will probably still be eating mostly soft foods, just to be on the safe side. I hate, hate, hate, blood (which is why I’m not pre-med), and so I would hate to do anything that might make me start bleeding again… yuck!

This morning I began to start feeling some discomfort in my mouth again, so I quickly ate some yogurt in order to take another painkiller (the doctor said not to take them on an empty stomach). I feel like such a pill popper because they gave me so many antibiotics to take too!

Japanese plain yogurt- my favorite!

DSC01408

DSC01411

This was so creamy and delicious. If any of you travel to Japan, you must buy some of their yogurt. Any kind. I love their plain, but they also have a wonderful aloe flavored one (yes I know it sounds weird, but it really just tastes like grape!), and other delicious yogurts. The plain kind is creamier and less tart than US plain yogurt, but less thick than greek yogurt. It comes with a small packet of sugar that you blend into the yogurt, which makes the yogurt just slightly sweet. Even without the sugar though, the yogurt is still delicious. On the side, I also ate some toast just so I could take my pills :)

An hour later, I munched on some random foods… an extremely juicy orange and 2 mini cucumbers sliced up! I swear, the fruits and produce here are just so much fresher than in the US. I haven’t tasted such good cucumber in ages!

DSC01409

Then finally, a little while later again, “real” breakfast:

DSC01398

What is this, you might ask? It’s this creamy, delicious black sesame mixed cereal blend (unsweetened) with banana slices on top for some sweetening. There are all sorts of great, nutritious types of grains in this blend. There is a blend of millet, barley, and oat, among other grains that I don’t even know how to translate. I actually wonder if there is some chia in this blend, because the texture is quite gel-like. Anyway, it was delicious and extremely nutritious! Just black sesame alone has the following benefits:

  • Black sesame is great source for cooper, magnesium, and calcium. Just a quarter-cup of sesame seeds supplies 74.0% of the daily value for copper, 31.6% of the DV for magnesium, and 35.1% of the DV for calcium.
    • copper plays an important role in the activity of lysyl oxidase, an enzyme needed for the cross-linking of collagen and elastin–the ground substances that provide structure, strength and elasticity in blood vessels, bones and joints.
    • magnesium prevents the airway spasm in asthma, lowers high blood pressure, prevents migraines, and restores normal sleep patterns.
    • calcium, is obviously great for bone health.

Yum! The cereal is also great for me right now because it involves almost zero chewing.

Although I’m enjoying just resting at home lately, I’m also starting to get antsy. I’m not allowed to exercise for at least a day due to my wisdom teeth procedure (any physical exertion might cause the wounds to start bleeding again…), but it’s been 4 days since I last worked out and that is a long time for me! My parents live by this wonderful mountain that has a paved path on it, and I can’t wait to hike it up again. My mom frequently walks up the mountain (it’s not too high up- takes about 25 minutes if you speed walk) for exercise, and my legs are itching to move again. Hong Kong is one of those cities way too hot & humid to run outside (or so methinks, as I’m typically spoiled by the beautiful Charles River in Boston), but I would love to go walking. Interestingly, my hunger has gone way down during the past 4 days. It’s been extremely interesting for me because I’m typically active, but I never actually thought my hunger would truly decrease if I stopped working out. Of course, it makes logical sense, but I’m so used to being hungry all the time (which is fine, since I do love munching), that it’s quite a nice change! It’s also nice to know that when I do starting lowering the intensity and frequency of my workouts (especially running, since I don’t think I want to ruin my knees once I’m old….) in the future, I won’t be as ravenous as I typically am  :)

Anyway, as much as I’d like to go for a hike, I hate blood more than anything, so I suppose I need to rest another day! Hopefully, every single inch of sore muscle in my body has been repaired from my rest this week :) My family is also planning on traveling to Shen Zhen, China this weekend for 3 hour massages! Can’t wait!!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on August 18, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Stay strong and rest up, girl!

  2. Lele said, on August 19, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Those time lapse photographs are beautiful!

  3. Lynn (The Actors Diet) said, on August 19, 2009 at 2:01 am

    oh wisdom teeth – i had all of mine removed on TWO separate occassions – one with surgery and the other 2 got pulled. neither was fun. so glad it’s over!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

