Moving Beyond Perfection

The Climb

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on August 20, 2009

Yesterday, I went on a beautiful hike up The Peak. It was the perfect opportunity for me to clear my head and do some thinking.

From the bottom: (Same level as where I live – pretty high up already)

 DSC01422

Starting to go up.. it is approximately 7:30 AM and people are already finishing their morning hikes.

 DSC01423 DSC01424

They have some sitting areas located along the way.

DSC01425

Continuing to climb up…

DSC01426 

DSC01430

Almost there…

 DSC01431 

A park along the way- I am always amused when I see an American stretching after a run. The only people you see here running are Americans, as the natives and even the British and Australians seem to prefer walking only. Given the humidity and heat, walking does make more sense. However, there is an area right before the very top that is fairly flat, and there is a nice ~2 mile loop that you will frequently see Americans running on.  I had planned on only walking yesterday myself too, but my legs were itching to run and I broke out into a jog a few times. It was way too steamy for a real run, however. I am used to nice cool weather on flat land, and I didn’t want to get heat stroke from pushing myself too hard.

DSC01432

These pictures are taken from the 2-mile loop area – not quite at the very top yet, but getting quite close. The loop is mostly flat, but has some mini hills to bring you up to the very top.

 DSC01429 DSC01434

 DSC01433 DSC01435

DSC01436  DSC01438

Finally- at the top, there is a shopping complex, which was almost entirely empty since it was a weekday.

DSC01439 DSC01440

And here are some views:

DSC01441

DSC01442

 DSC01443

The walk up was really refreshing. There is a nice breeze at the top- almost like an award for making it to the top. I really needed a chance to do some thinking on my own and this was a nice place to do it. I have been struggling a lot lately with deciding whether to follow this nagging feeling in my stomach versus what makes the most rational sense. I know if I were speaking to anyone else, I would tell them to follow what their instincts tell them, but for some reason I don’t tell myself the same because I feel like I have nothing to back up my nagging feeling. If anyone were to ask me why, I wouldn’t even know how to explain. But I guess that’s why it makes the feeling “instinctual” rather than “rational” right? I’m afraid I can’t go into more details right now but I guess I just need some space/time of my own right now to first sort my mind out. It’s frustrating because the clock is literally ticking. I know I have a lot of options, but I can’t pursue all of them at the same time- I at least need to choose one to start with.. and to focus on it. And then there are little things on my mind.. like getting a new laptop. My laptop is currently on its last leg and every time I open it, I’m scared it’s going to just die. But I’ll have to wait until I’m back in the US to get a new laptop because I’d really rather not deal with converting the Cantonese on my computer and changing all the settings… additionally, I’m going to have to figure out how to transfer everything from my current laptop to the new one. I think the start of every school year is just always stressful for me because of moving in. Since I come home so infrequently and the flight is so long (with 50 pd. suitcase limits), I hardly ever bring anything home and as a result, I just have stacks and stacks of boxes stored at school, at friends’, and at parents’ friends. It is quite a headache moving in every fall (just as it is quite a headache moving out), and I don’t think I’m going to feel relaxed until everything is unpacked, cleaned, and set up for school. Speaking of which, I need to go take a look at what classes to take in the fall now.. have a great day/night everyone! Hope you enjoyed the pictures!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lynn (The Actors Diet) said, on August 20, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    wow shopping complex at the top!!! that would totally get me motivated!

  2. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) said, on August 20, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    I just lived through the headache of packing and now I am sitting in a room full of crap to unpack…this process is honestly getting SO OLD! Last time around!

    Your photos are breathtaking!

  3. Learning To Relove said, on August 22, 2009 at 4:41 am

    omg the pics are absolutely amazing and that hike sounds like something I would absolutely love to do! I am so happy you were able to go out and do it :)

  4. randomlymikey said, on August 24, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    the hike sounds like something i would really enjoy, running or walking-lol. i’m cray like that :) i sure hope your laptop holds on for you until you can get a new one. and that you find some peace with all the stuff you are sorting out. the pix are awesome. for some reason i really like the 2nd one in the last set.

  5. Special K said, on September 1, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Hiking, most of the time, provides me with a little respite…the sense of perspective, and accomplishment. I’ve never gone on a hike alone, and I am considering it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

