Moving Beyond Perfection

( 7 am – 10 pm work days ) x 3 days in a row = 1 tired girl

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on July 8, 2009

Boy – waking up at 6 am everyday to get to work is killing me! At least the sun has been shining though and today is HUMPday which means the week is finally winding down :)

I wanted to talk a little bit a bout where I hope to bring this blog. It’s probably always going to be filled with my random little musings/thoughts/stories, but I plan on gearing it towards a food/fitness/health blog once my summer internship ends. Anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that I love being creative with food, even if dining hall food is all I have to play with! And my idea of fun is roaming around inTrader Joe’s and Whole Foods. Last year I would even bring extra secret ingredients with me to class so that I could spice up my sandwhich at fly-by! (where upperclassmen “fly by” for lunch by getting pre-made boring old cold cut sandwhiches for lunch..literally just 2 slices of bread, some meat, and maybe 1 slice of lettuce). As for now, however, I may very well be posting sporadically, and about completely random things! It kind of fits my personality well since my head tends to fill up w/ random thoughts all day long :)

***

What is not okay:

At work during lunch today, I overheard a very not-okay conversation between two assistants who sit w/ me in front of me. One of the ladies had purchased a happy meal for lunch, and the other one asked what that delicious smell was. When she saw that it was a McDonald’s Happy Meal, she frowned and groaned, “Guess what I have for lunch? Pineapple.” When nobody really knew what to say to that, she then continued bitterly, “And guess what I had for breakfast? Pineapple.” The other lady rolled her eyes in such a manner that suggested that this was not the first time they’d had such a conversation.

Apparently the woman who had pineapple for lunch is trying to do the “fruits + veggies thing” on the weekdays and then go crazy ont he wekeends. I didn’t really say much because as an intern, it just wasn’t my place to. But what have I noticed? Although she is nice to me, she is more often than not snappy and always complaining about how she doesn’t feel well, or that she has a migraine. I had wondered why, but after today, the answer is obvious. Nutrition! But even aside from nutrition, what was most obvious to me was this: Hungry people are grouchy. Simple as that. I know for a fact that you do not want to talk to me when I am hungry. I really wish people would just stop believing all these stupid diets! They do not work. And if they do, they are only temporary. In the meantime, you are just left irritable and hungry. What a bummer.

***

Okay, it’s getting late so I’m going to head to bed! Good night, world! :)

***

Update: I just posted a page on distorted body image on the right hand side!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bri said, on July 11, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    It’s called getting “hangry”- I stole the word from a fellow FOP leader. Ie when you get angry b/c you’re so hungry : example; “We better find a restaurant soon, I’m getting hangry…” It’s a funny word but it’s fitting!

    • Kathy said, on July 11, 2009 at 11:14 pm

      hahah that makes so much sense..!! I totally never made that connection! :)


Leave a Reply

