Moving Beyond Perfection

Too Much to Hope For?

Posted in Uncategorized by Kathy on July 14, 2009

One thing that really irks me is gender stereotypes. Even though people don’t state them outloud, sometimes they are still there under the surface. I have been told by many at school (both by girls and guys) that guys may find me intimidating. Especially Asian ones. Umm why? I would like to think I am generally quite friendly, and for goodness sakes, I am 5’1. Clearly, I am not physically intimidating.

I went through this period of time at school when I tried to find a nice, Asian boyfriend for the first time –just because culturally, there are more similarities. However, that completely failed. For one, I found that I was way too outspoken. And for two, I think that my career ambitions scared away many. For many Asian boys (yes, I am completely generalizing – this is only based on my own encounters), it seems as though the prospect of an ibanker wife (even though we’re too young to think of marriage yet) is just a turn off. No, instead, they want someone to stay at home and cook dinner, watch the kids, take care of the house…

This really annoys the heck out of me. But what is ironic is that I actually would love being a housewife. It’s not that I want to throw away my education or anything — it’s just that I genuinely enjoy cooking. I enjoy decorating. I enjoy having a clean house. And I would love to have kids one day and be able to spend all day with them. I don’t think that being a housewife is a waste of knowledge at all because in the end, you will pass your knowledge onto your kids. My mother was a doctor before she had me and my brother, and though she gave it up, she taught us so much. When I ask her if she regrets her decision, she says absolutely not. I think I would be the same way.

So am I being unfair? I guess so. I guess in an ideal world, I would meet a guy who wouldn’t mind me working, who wouldn’t expect me to stay at home, but who would also respect my decision to stay at home if I one day wanted to. That seems almost too perfect though. I guess I just like to dream…

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Charlene said, on July 18, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    You go girl :) I remember us having this conversation a while back… and all I can say is that you will be amazing, no matter what you choose to do eventually! xx


Leave a Reply

